Sunday (Fun-day) Food Prep Day

So this past Sunday marked my official 1 week & 1 day back at school.. anniversary, I guess? Even though it’s only been a little over a week, I’ve quickly come to realize how busy I’m going to be this quarter. For some reason I decided it would be a good idea to say goodbye to my social life for the next ten weeks and sign up for three Biology classes (my major) + a Chemistry class (Organic to be specific..). I also decided to join a new CrossFit gym that’s 18-34 minutes away by bike (May have timed it once or twice…) rather than go back to my old gym which is 10 minutes away at a very casual pace. I’m obviously a very big fan of listening to my gut (pun-intended), hence why these decisions were made.

So needless to say, along with goodbye to my social life goes goodbye to a lot of my time to experiment with new foods and recipes. Ideally I’d be devoting lots of time reading various paleo blogs and cookbooks and creating/re-creating the recipes I find in them but for now I’ll have to substitute those activities with their more convenient counterparts – listening to podcasts on my commutes to and from the gym and (the topic of this post) weekly food prepping!

Starting this week (on Sunday) I’m going to dedicate two afternoons/evenings a week (Most likely Sundays and Thursdays) to prepping food for the following days so that I can quickly throw together some veggies, meats & fat (aka meals) without having to think too much or spend too much time in the kitchen.

My plan is to purchase a shit ton of veggies at the grocery store on my food prep day – whatever my heart desires really, minus any nightshades of course (Since I’m still following the AIP), as well as different kinds of meats – ground beef/turkey/pork, chicken, sausages, sliced turkey, & whatever else that is either on sale or catches my eye that day.

My fridge has been stocked with sauerkraut, mustard (only two types at the moment which is good for me, I’m an addict), olives (also two kinds at the moment), and lemon/lime juice. And my cupboard is stocked with everything coconut (oil, butter, flakes), olive oil, balsamic vinegar, and salt/other AIP friendly spices. So I’ve got my essentials to jazz up my meals with and will just replace these on an as needed basis.

Anyway, without further ado..

Here is how my first day of food prepping went:

First,  I went to Whole Foods to buy my meat (still working on finding a trusty local source in CO) & bought two lbs. grass fed ground beef, 1 lb. ground turkey, 1 lb. sliced deli turkey & 1 package of pre-cooked pork sausages

Then, I went to Safeway to buy my veggies (as much as I would love to buy all organic veggies as well, it’s just not in my budget right now to do both, especially with the amount of veggies I consume..) I bought a bunch of kale, a bag of mixed greens (spinach, chard, etc), celery, green beans, zucchini, cucumbers, sugar snap peas, broccoli, carrots, a sweet potato & a lemon. Oh and a few cloves of garlic, but I skipped on avocados cause I already had three ripe ones in my fridge. Got this all for under $30!

photo (2)

Now for the food prep..

  • First I washed all the veggies I was planning on chopping up (with the exception of the carrots because I use a peeler for those babies
  • I got out my knife, cutting board, and tupperware & began chopping up the celery & peeling/chopping up the carrots
  • Got out my mandoline slicer & sliced up the 3-4 zucchini into “noodles”
  • Put away the carrots, celery, snow peas, & zucchini into tupperware for easily accessible raw snacks/salad additions later

photo 1

  • Preheated the oven to 400 degrees F (could’ve also been done slightly earlier)
  • Washed the sweet potato & washed/ cut up the green beans
  • Poked holes in the sweet potato & put it on a pyrex cooking sheet
  • Put the green beans on another pyrex cooking sheet, drizzled them with olive oil, salt & cinnamon, & also added a couple cloves of diced garlic

photo 2

  • Put both in the oven & let them cook while I prepped my meat for the week (The green beans took about 30 minutes & the sweet potato took about 45-50 minutes – it was a big guy)
  • Lastly I cooked up my meat on the stove (2 lb. ground beef and 1 lb. ground turkey) & put them into separate tupperware containers & away in my “meat drawer” (My roommates aren’t huge meat eaters so I have the drawer allll to myself, exciting stuff).Oh and I left the pork sausage alone because it was already fully cooked.

photo 4

  • Lastly, once the green beans & sweet potato were cooked through I put the green beans away in another tupperware container (Side note, on Monday morning my roommate Hannah & I agreed that we should probably invest in some more tupperware 😉 )
  • I then cut the sweet potato up into thirds (ate the skin) & put each skinless orange chunk into an individual container to take with me to the CrossFit gym with me for post-workout fuel.

So there you go, my first food prep day! It was quite a successful one too if you ask me – I’ve been able to make easy & delicious meals all week long (which I will post in a follow up post in the next few days)!

I was also able to get in some quality (speaker) phone time with my little sister the whole time I prepped!I prepped & she whitened her teeth. We are excellent multi-taskers.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

