My Go-To “MAKE ME FEEL BETTER” Meal

So this morning I woke up a little hungover. And by little I mean that my grumbling stomach was the only thing that got me out of bed at 9:30 am this morning. It was a competition – grumbling stomach vs. headache, and grumbling stomach won. 

I’m not very proud of the fact that I am hungover and feeling like a worthless human being (well, a little less worthless now that I’ve gotten some good food in me..) BUT this blog is called Life of a Paleo College student, and if I only posted about the good times when I’m eating perfectly paleo*** meals then my blog would be a lie. And that I cannot allow. So this post is devoted to what I eat on mornings after a night out. I am proud of the fact that, unlike many other college students, on mornings when I wake up feeling crappy – whether it be because I’m hungover or just feeling under the weather – I turn to food (good food), not meds.

Image

First off – I begin my morning with a BIG glass of cold water with a pinch of salt. Kind of no brainer, alcohol dehydrates the body.. soo I drink some water to rehydrate (along with a little salt to optimize hydration). 

Then I get as much dark, leafy goodness into my body as possible by throwing a ton of kale, spinach, collard greens, etc. into a pan with some coconut oil & cooking it down to a less overwhelming size.

When the greens are mostly cooked down I throw some good quality protein into the mix (this morning I chose leftover grass-fed beef) – once it’s all heated through I add in some salt & spices. 

Lastly I add on lots of fermented veggies – usually in the form of sauerkraut to get some healthy bacteria back in my belly. This morning the sauerkraut got it’s own plate. Yea, it was a two-plate kind of morning. 

When it comes down to it, my “make me feel better” meal isn’t drastically different from any other morning I just make sure to prioritize protein, greens, and healthy bacteria. And honestly, it does the trick. I’m writing this post after just licking both my plates clean and I’m already feeling a heck of a lot better than I did when I woke up an hour ago. So good, in fact, that today I might just put on some clothes (other than my sweatpants) & venture out into the real world.. 

But before I make those drastic moves, here’s a picture of what I put together this morning!

Image

***Btw, perfectly paleo doesn’t exist. Juuust using the phrase to try to get my point across. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

