Homemade Vanilla Coconut Butter (& a Blown Up Toaster Oven)

So today I blew up our toaster oven. That’s right, the toaster caught on fire. And then it exploded.

I was just innocently trying to make a little snack of toasted coconut flakes & next thing I know the coconut is black & the toaster is on fire. On fiiiiiiire. I swear I only turned around for a moment – that coconut went from white to black in 0.5 seconds. It was scary-fast. Luckily one of my roommates walked in the door just in the knick of time to calm me down & help me tackle the flaming beast. I quickly opened the door & she threw a cup of water into the toaster. 3-2-1. Open. Throw. BOOM. There goes the toaster – glass everywhere.

Could the situation have been handled differently? Maybe. But our house is still intact & as far as I’m concerned that’s all that matters.

It’s funny how things work – one moment I’m thinking I’m a genius for thinking to toast coconut in a toaster rather than in the oven & the next moment I’m the idiot roommate who blew up the toaster.

Oh & did I mention it was my first time using the toaster oven? Yea, everyone else was using it daily for their toast & bagels & other gluten-filled (or gluten-free in some cases) what-nots except for me. I was having serious FOMO & wanted a stab at the toaster oven! Guess I’ve learned my lesson. Paleo & toaster ovens do not mix. For now, at least..

Anyway after we’d ridded our kitchen of teeny glass bits & aired out the smoke my coconut-craving had not subsided so what do I decide to do? Take out the food processor & make coconut butter of course! Now the food processor – that’s an appliance I can handle. And man oh man did this coconut butter hit the spot – I’d never made homemade coconut butter but have heard it’s really easy & I figured I needed to give it a shot, especially after I went a little coconut-crazy & purchased a 3 lb. bag of coconut flakes online (yea, it’s as big as my torso).

I tend to eat my coconut butter with a spoon as a snack or dessert but I’ve also found that it pairs nicely with carrots, celery, & a variety of fruits. Oh, and if you refrigerate it in mini containers or dixie cups it turns into a sort of fudge-type-thing & is deeeelicious.

Homemade Vanilla Coconut Butter

Image

Time: 10 minutes

Ingredients:

  • Coconut Flakes (I used this brand but any brand will do. Just make sure to get the “flakes” instead of “shredded”)
  • Vanilla Extract
  • Coconut Oil (Optional, to alter the consistency)

Kitchen Tools:

  • Food processor (or powerful blender)
  • Tupperware or Glass Container for Storage

Directions:

  1. Place flakes in food processor – I used 3 cups which yielded about 3/4 cup of coconut butter. I suggest doubling this to 6 cups (which should yield about 1 1/2 cups), or even tripling it to 9 for bigger batches. Any amount will do I just wouldn’t use less than 3 cups because it will be too small of an amount to blend together & transform into coconut butter once broken down.
  2. Turn the food processor on & blend for about 8 – 10 minutes. After about 3-4 minutes stop the processor & scrap the coconut down off the sides & back into the center. Do this a few more times until the coconut butter has turned into a uniform, smooth consistency.
  3. Open up the food processor & add about 1/2 teaspoon (1 teaspoon for 3+ cups of coconut) of vanilla extract. Blend for another minute & you’re done!
  4. Scoop into a tupperware or glass container & store at room temperature.

Side Notes:

  • If the coconut flakes are being stubborn & not seeming to blend well you can add a little melted coconut oil (about 1-3 teaspoons depending on the initial coconut amount you used). This should help the coconut transform into a smoother consistency & will be especially helpful with smaller batches of coconut.
  • Plain coconut butter is quite sweet on its own but if you looking for a slightly sweeter taste feel free to add a bit of honey or maple syrup.
  • This recipe serves as a base for many variations – try adding in some other spices such as Cinnamon, or Nutmeg, or some cocoa powder for a chocolate version! Or maybe pulse in some cocoa nibs or dark chocolate chips? I imagine that would be very, very good.
This entry was posted in New Site, Recipe and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

