Easy Cauliflower Soup

I’ve been seriously digging cauliflower lately. Whenever I go to the grocery store I make sure to buy at least two heads because I know I’ll be in the mood for cauliflower mash at some point during the week. And making cauliflower mash will make me want to make cauliflower rice, which will then make me want to make roasted cauliflower, which eventually has lead to me wanting to make cauliflower soup. Hence, the creation of this recipe.

The only problem I’ve run into with my cauliflower creations is that they never tend to last long! Probably couldn’t eat an entire head of roasted cauliflower in one sitting but mash that baby up & it’s a whole different animal. I’m pretty sure I’ve eaten an entire cauliflower worth of mash in one day. I only make/share it with my friends so I’m forced to exercise portion control. It works, but then again I’m usually still the one licking the serving bowl clean.

I made this soup last night & was hoping that by adding some homemade chicken stock to the cauliflower this would increase the yield & thus make the cauliflower last longer but then it turned out to be really good & I ate half of it in one sitting. And now I’m sitting in class day-dreaming about eating the other half for dinner tonight.

It’s a good thing cauliflower is so inexpensive.

Easy Cauliflower Soup

Image

Serves: 3 – 4 people (Unless you’re serving me..)

Ingredients:

  • 1 head of Cauliflower
  • 1 Shallot (or 1/2 a yellow or white Onion)
  • 3-4 tablespoons Coconut Oil
  • 1-2 tablespoons chopped Fresh Sage (or 1 tablespoon Dried Sage)
  • 1 cup Chicken stock (or other bone broth/stock)
  • 2 teaspoons Sea Salt

Kitchen Tools:

  • Cutting Board
  • Knife
  • Mixing Spoon
  • Measuring Spoons/Measuring Cup
  • Pan
  • Pot + Steamer Basket
  • High-powered Blender, Food processor, or Hand Blender

Directions:

  1. Boil about half a pot full of water to steam your cauliflower & place steamer basket on top/ set up steaming device
  2. Chop up cauliflower into small pieces (small enough to steam quickly but not small enough that they will fall through the holes of the steamer)
  3. Place cauliflower in steamer basket, sprinkle with a teaspoon of sea salt, put lid on top & steam until cauliflower is very soft (About 10 – 15 minutes)
  4. While cauliflower is steaming, chop up shallot & sauté in one tablespoon of coconut oil
  5. When the shallot starts to brown, turn the heat down & add 1 cup of chicken stock to the pan
  6. Allow the shallot & chicken stock to cook together for about five minutes or until steam starts to rise off the chicken stock (at that point you know it’s hot enough)
  7. Chop up a small handful (about 1-2 tablespoons worth) of fresh sage or measure out 1 tablespoon of dried sage
  8. Add steamed cauliflower, chicken stock + shallot, sage, 2 tablespoons of coconut oil & 1 teaspoon of sea salt to your blending device (or a mixing bowl if using a Hand Blender)
  9. Blend together until smooth – taste & add a few tablespoons of the water used to steam the cauliflower (or some fresh hot water) if you want it to be thinner or some more salt if needed

Pictures

Image

Image

Everything ready for mixing!

Image Lone leaf of sage, optional

Image

 Served along side pulled pork, sauteed spinach & some chopped up apples. A highly recommended combo.

This entry was posted in New Site, Recipe and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Easy Cauliflower Soup

  1. Autumn Lee says:

    I’ve never experimented with cauliflower, but I was beginning to salivate while reading your recipe. I’m definitely going to try this. 🙂

  2. stephcormier says:

    Mmm this looks tasty and easy!

Leave a Reply

