Resourceful Marinade

Week after week I find myself buying the same jar of Jeff’s Naturals Kalamata olives from my local Sprouts. I’ve experimented buying other brands (usually enticed by sales) but I keep coming back to this one. Always the faithful customer. The only problem I run into with this is that they are contained in this delicious marinade that consists of ONLY good ingredients – water, organic vinegar, sea salt, organic red wind vinegar, and organic olive oil – and when I finish the jar of olives I feel bad disposing of the marinade. So week after week I save the jar of marinade at the bottom of my fridge in hopes that I will find a recipe to use it in or slowly use it up as salad dressing. I had yet to do so however until last night when a light bulb went off in my head as I was chopping a sirloin up into chunks to stick into the crock pot today – why not marinate the chunks in the kalamata olive marinade overnight first!?

So after letting the steak marinade in the juice overnight I cooked some of it up to try it out today & it was SERIOUSLY GOOD. Like melt-in-your-mouth-I-can’t-believe-this-is-my-lunch good. Which has put me in a great mood because not only have a finally found a way to be more resourceful (all about stretching that dollar) but also because I just ate steak for lunch. 

I highly recommend trying this out – if you ever find yourself in a similar situation where you’ve got a jar full of delicious marinade left rather than throwing it out, use it to juice up some steak! This time I cooked about 3/4 cup of the steak + marinade on a coconut oil coated pan (which was delicious) but you can always stick the contents into the crock-pot with some veggies for an easy stew-type dish.

 

Image

 

Overnight Marinade

Image

 

Enjoyed the delicious beef on top of Spaghetti Squash with some Rosemary & surrounded by a cage of Cucumber (Because for some reason lately I’ve found the need to surround my meals with cucumber..)

This entry was posted in New Site and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

