Healing Soup (& other suggestions) for Sick Days

So I know it’s at the tail-end of flu season for most everyone out there. Most everyone, except for me, that is. Because this Monday morning at 5 am I unfortunately woke up with a nasty stomach bug.

After ridding my stomach of its entire contents all morning & then nearly blacking out after attempting to venture downstairs for some water I decided it was best that I just stay in my bed all day long and rest. Now I’m someone who likes to be constantly moving around throughout the day – I never really like to sit for more than 30-45 minutes at a time (sometimes the unfortunate 50 when I’m forced to during class) & even choose to stand up while studying whenever possible, sooo laying in bed all day was a big deal for me. I can’t say I really enjoyed being bedridden, but I could tell it was what my body needed so after the whole black out episode I crawled my way back over to my bed & propped myself up with some good old Netflix & a large mason jar full of ice cubes.

And that is how I remained for the next 3-4 hours – switching between episodes of The Voice and a brainless but addicting new NBC comedy, About a Boy. Lucky for me I also had the company of a few of my roommates and friends who stopped by to keep me company. One of my good friends Sumner even stopped by twice – once while on a run and another time as a surprise carrying a ginger-themed Get Well Soon box containing organic ginger beer, ginger kombucha, ginger tea, candied ginger, and, best of all, a tiny little ginger root nugget. Talk about a good friend right there.

So for the majority of the day, right up until just before Sumner stopped by for the second time, I couldn’t really stand the thought of eating or drinking anything (hence the ice cubes). This was pretty strange for me considering I tend to have somewhat of a king-size appetite but I decided to just go with it. I figured my body was probably busy fighting off whatever nasty little virus had weaseled its way into my system & didn’t have the precious time to be worried about digestion at the moment so I just let my body do its thing & sure enough at around 5 pm I started to feel better & with that came the stomach growls.

I had done a little googling in between About a Boy episodes on the best paleo flu remedies & while optimally I would’ve started with a nice warm cup of homemade chicken broth I unfortunately didn’t have any ready made bone broth in my fridge per usual (although luckily I had some beef bones in my freezer that I had my roommate pull out in the morning & stick into the crockpot for me). BUT I did happen to have a coconut water in the fridge (thank goodness for buy one get one free deals!)

So I started with the coconut water & after success with that I tried out a few easy to digest but nourishing foods. I didn’t want to go overboard but I also wanted to provide my body with some nourishment so that I didn’t wake up a hangry beast.

What I consumed consisted of:

  1. A coconut water with the pulp (go big or go home)
  2. A couple pieces of candied ginger 
  3. A frozen banana sprinkled with sea salt (can’t neglect my good friend, Na+)
  4. A hard-boiled egg
  5. A tablespoon or so of Gelatin mixed into some water

And luckily the next day I woke up feeling 100% better. It’s a weird thing, those 24-hour bugs. One day you feel like you’re on your death bed (& are literally telling your roommates that you are probably going to die & that they should call “someone”.. whatever that means..) and then the next day you wake up with Katrina and the Waves singing “Walking on Sunshine” softly in your ear.

But even though I was feeling great I knew that there was a chance that the bug was lingering in my system & since I had lost a lot of my good GI bacteria in a couple unfortunate ways the day prior I didn’t want to dive back into my normal way of eating & freak out my digestive system. So since my bone broth was now ready to be enjoyed I decided to try out this simple, nutrient dense soup recipe that I found on a blog forum during my paleo flu remedies google research. The soup only requires a few simple ingredients & is rather delicious so even though I know Spring is in the air & warm soup may not be on the agenda, I suggest keeping this recipe in mind to make during cold season or when you there’s buzzing of a virus going around. It’s kind of like a less salty version of that good old egg drop soup (minus the MSG).

Side Note: Ingesting garlic (either raw, if you can handle it, or in soups like this one) is always a good idea when you’re sick or feeling a cold or flu coming on because garlic has antimicrobial, antiviral, and antibiotic properties. And if you’re worried about bad breath, adding the optional herbs (such as thyme or rosemary) to the soup or chewing on a few sprigs of fresh herbs afterwards will help alleviate that side effect.

Healing Soup Recipe

photo 4

Ingredients:

  • Teaspoon of Coconut Oil
  • 3-4 cloves of Garlic, chopped
  • 1-2 cups of Beef or Chicken Broth
  • 1-2 Whole Eggs
  • Sea Salt
  • Other spices (Rosemary, Thyme, Sage) optional

Kitchen Tools

  • Small pot
  • Knife (to cut garlic)
  • Fork (to whisk the egg with)

Directions

  1. Heat up the Coconut Oil in the pot over medium heat
  2. Once Coconut Oil is completely melted, add the Garlic and cook/ heat up the garlic for another 3-4 minutes
  3. Option to add a small amount of spices at this point (Rosemary, Thyme, etc.) I added Thyme
  4. Add your Broth and bring to a boil
  5. Whisk the egg(s) in a small bowl while the broth boils
  6. After about 5 minutes of the broth simmering, add the whisked egg(s) and stir the mixture for about 20 seconds to incorporate the egg into the broth
  7. Allow the soup to cook for another 2-3 minutes, stirring about every 30 seconds to a minute to keep the soup consistent
  8. Turn off the heat, add Sea Salt to taste
  9. Let cool for a bit & enjoy!

 

Apart from making this soup every morning some other suggestions I have for sick days (or the few days following) are:

  • Take a probiotic supplement and/or eat foods rich in probiotics to help replenish the good bacteria in your gut. I unfortunately did not have any probiotic supplements on hand but I drank a couple kombuchas the past couple of days & made sure to have a serving of sauerkraut each day.
  • Take digestive enzymes prior to your meals to aid your body with the digestive process & ensure that you’re obtaining all the nutrients from your foods
  • Eat easier to digest foods on the few days following (avoid the healthy, but tougher to digest foods such as kale and broccoli) so as to not overwhelm your system as it regains health (I have a couple examples of the meals I chose below)
  • Keep hydrated! Drink herbal teas and plenty of water throughout the day. I chose ginger tea & lemon water.
  • SLEEP. 8+ hours. You know the drill.

Some examples of the meals I have been eating the past couple days that have worked out well for my body:

photo 3

photo 1

Some other sources of information I found useful:

This entry was posted in New Site, Recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Healing Soup (& other suggestions) for Sick Days

  1. jcrohnie715 says:

    I couldn’t have seen this post at a better or more convient time as I too have been hit with the second strain of the flu bug :/ Thanks for this post!

  2. I had a few of these bugs this past winter spring (3 little kids will do that) and pretty much did everything you mentioned here with a lot of success. Good tips!

Leave a Reply

