Spiced Baked Bacon

So I’ve been slacking on my bacon intake lately but when I discovered half a package of bacon in my fridge that I had almost forgotten about the other day when doing some batch cooking I was ecstatic. It’s like finding a five dollar bill in the pocket of your shorts, or a stick of gum in the bottom of your backpack. It’s a great feeling discovering a little prize that may have technically been yours all along but just wasn’t quite under your radar. Oh, and don’t worry the bacon passed the sniff test. Twice. Totally safe.

Anyway, I like to bake my bacon in batches just prior to roasting veggies so that I can either toss the veggies in the bacon grease filled baking sheet prior to roasting or drizzle the bacon fat overtop of the veggies in a separate baking sheet with a few spices. Because I’m super economical like that. And because veggies roasted in bacon fat is DELICIOUS. Especially brussels sprouts. Bacon (fat) and brussels sprouts were made for each other.

Normally I just buy plain bacon with just one or two added ingredients (usually something like salt and/or celery powder) because I’ve found that the flavored or spiced bacon (even at Whole Foods) usually has some sketchy ingredient in it like sugar or canola oil & I just ain’t down with that. But the other day I came up with what I thought was a genius idea. Why not add my own spices on top of the bacon prior to roasting?! And that way my crumbling my bacon on top of my meals it can be used as both a flavorful fat AND a spice.

The bacon came out wonderfully and can be eaten as both a snack (especially delicious when cooled in the fridge for a day or two), added as a garnish to other meals, or incorporated into other recipes! I have a recipe using the spiced bacon in the works, so if all goes well I will be posting that soon!

Spiced Baked Bacon

photo 3Time: 20-30 minutes (depending on the amount of bacon)

Ingredients:

  • Bacon (a whole package, half a package, or however many slices you wish!)
  • Ground Cinnamon
  • Ground Nutmeg
  • Ground Cloves
  • Ground Ginger

Kitchen Tools:

  • A baking sheet
  • Aluminum foil (will help with cleanup but not necessary)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 ºF
  2. Line your baking sheet with aluminum foil or leave as is
  3. Line up your bacon side by side on your baking sheet
  4. Sprinkle spices overtop of bacon – No need to measure out spices just sprinkle them on in your desired amounts. I prefer a lot of Cinnamon, a medium amount of Nutmeg & just a small amount of Ginger & Cloves. But that’s completely up to you.
  5. Bake until desired crispiness – this can be anywhere from 10-25 minutes depending on how much bacon you are baking. For 5-6 slices of bacon I recommend checking on it after 15 minutes.
  6. Optional – when you think your bacon is almost done switch Bake to Broil & Broil the bacon for 3-5 minutes to get it niiiice & crispy

Other Options:

  • Sprinkle some Coconut Sugar, or Cane Sugar on top for a slightly sweeter bacon
  • Change up the spices/ try out different combinations – maybe Rosemary + Thyme or Cinnamon + Cayenne Pepper?

 

I failed to get a picture of the bacon actually cooked so here’s a close up of the picture above.. Baaaaaaaaaacon.

photo 3

 

 

This entry was posted in New Site, Recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Spiced Baked Bacon

  1. Oh I have often thought about spicy bacon but never quite got round/ risked it not working and ruining the bacon to do it. Thank you for taking the risk on mine and others behalf. I will be trying this … yum!

  2. Pingback: Bacon & Spice Twice-Baked Spaghetti Squash | Life of a Paleo College Student

Leave a Reply

