Coconut Coffee Breakfast Shake

Sometimes in class I like to dream up future recipes and meals to make later that day or week. Ok always in class I do this. How else am I supposed to get through the second half of Biomedical ethics? Anyway, last Thursday they were providing free Starbucks coffee for an event in the building my class was in so of course I helped myself to a cup, and while I was happily sipping on my hot cup of coffee I began thinking about how with the weather transitioning into spring it will soon be time for iced coffee, and then one thing led to another & this is what I came up with…

Coconut Coffee Breakfast Shake 

photo 4

Time: 5 minutes

Makes: One large serving (or two small servings)

Ingredients:

  • Coffee, frozen into ice cubes – use your standard-sized cup of coffee (the large cup size using a Keurig or medium-sized coffee mugs worth) & pour into either an ice tray or small Dixie cups to freeze into cubes
  • A half to one whole frozen banana, cut into chunks prior to freezing
  • Half cup of coconut milk
  • Half tablespoon Cinnamon
  • Half tablespoon Vanilla Extract
  • Cacao nibs to garnish, Optional

Kitchen Tools:

  • High powdered blender (or food processor might work as well, although you might need to double recipe)
  • Spoon
  • Coffee mug

Directions:

  1. Add all ingredients into blender (except for Cacao Nibs) in order listed
  2. Blend together until smooth (can add a few more spoonfuls of Coconut Milk to alter consistency)
  3. Pour into mug & garnish with Cacao Nibs (optional)

* Make sure Coffee ice cubes are small enough or they will be tough to blend up – I had to use an ice pick to break up further prior to blending b/c I made mine too large

Pictures:

photo 4

My coffee ice cubes (next time I’ll make them a little smaller to make it easier on the blender!) Just run the Dixie cups until medium-hot temp water for easy removal

photo 5

Everything ready to be blended up!

photo 2

All blended together

photo 3

If you’ve got some Cacao Nibs to spare throw them on top! Can also sprinkle on some extra Cinnamon and/or Cocoa Powder. Or perhaps some Dark Chocolate chips or shavings if you’re really trying to impress

This entry was posted in New Site, Recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Coconut Coffee Breakfast Shake

  1. The Thrifty Threesome says:

    Reblogged this on The Thrifty Threesome and commented:
    I’m just getting educated with the whole Paleo lifestyle, and I think it’s amazing. But what’s even more amazing, is this coffee recipe! Check out her blog! 🙂

  2. It’s truly awesome paragraph,

Leave a Reply

