Coffee (& Tea) Gummies

Up until about two months ago, I’d never really gotten the whole drinking coffee thing. Throughout high school I didn’t liked the taste and then I proceeded to stay away from it throughout my first couple years of college because I didn’t want to ever have to rely on something to wake me up in the morning or give me the focus or energy to study like the majority of college students do. I’ve also witnessed my Dad try & fail multiple times to give up his daily indulgence. And while I really don’t see anything wrong with enjoying a cup of coffee in the morning, addiction just isn’t for me.  So over the years I’ve remained content cultivating my hardcore tea habit & was pretty happy that I had yet to experience the desire to join the dark side (literally..).

And then one day I woke up & was craving coffee. Not the caffeine, the taste. Ok & no it didn’t exactly happen first thing in the morning, like, BAM. I want coffee. But over the course of a couple of weeks I began to become intrigued with the idea of coffee & with each progressive coffee shop visit I found myself wanting to order coffee instead of tea (Oh, the horror). And then finally one day I deliberately decided to give in & biked to one of the local coffee shops in Denver, Corvus Coffee Roasters, which is known for its prime coffee selection (according to its very high rating on Yelp at least). I ordered whatever roast the guying working there suggested & within sips I had fallen in love. And after a few more sips I had developed this incredible buzz. But it’s not the caffeine part of coffee that I’ve started to crave some days, it’s the taste. (Although that caffeine buzz isn’t always a bad side affect.)

So while I do now looove the taste of coffee, and feel I can now relate to all you religious coffee drinkers out there, I still do not drink it daily. Probably not even weekly, though I’d probably estimate I average about one cup a week (or two), depending. I still do not want to get addicted or have to rely on coffee. I also don’t find myself craving it every morning but occasionally on the days I find myself really wanting that coffee taste I’ll treat myself to a (good) cup of coffee from a local coffee shop or pop one of these coffee gummies into my mouth. Wait a second.. Coffee.. gummies..?

Yup. That’s right. I gummified a cup of coffee.

I originally came up with the idea last summer when I was home & first experimenting with gummy making. My dad (who is not only a coffee addict, but also a very dedicated triathlete) is constantly popping a cliff block or sport bean or any sort of gummy-type caffeine/energy – filled goodie into the side of his mouth prior to training. He has two requirements for this pre-workout fuel choice: that it is relatively slow dissolving & that it gives him that kick of energy he needs to train hard. So with a newfound gummy-making joy & a desire to find a healthier alternative for my dad, I designed the coffee gummy.

I’ve made this type of gummy a number of times now, changing up the amount of sweetness used & the great thing about it is that it can be tailored to your coffee drinking preferences. If you want something with a bit more of a kick & a little glucose to fuel you pre-workout, I suggest adding a bit more honey to the recipe. If you prefer black coffee, like I do, & sometimes just want that delicious coffee taste without having to brew a whole cup, then maybe use no sweetener or just a touch of maple syrup or stevia (if you prefer). Oooor even more, if you prefer to not drink your coffee black, simply add a few tablespoons of your desired milk choice to the recipe (coconut, almond, cow’s, goat’s, etc.) Although if you choose to add milk, I suggest sharing with friends/family or eating all of the gummies within the week, just to be safe.

Oh & for my college readers out there – keep these in mind for next time your in the midst of finals studying. Having a few packed to snack on throughout long study sessions really helps!

Lastly, if you remain a die-hard tea drinker, this recipe works just the same by swapping out the brewed coffee for any variety of tea! Although word to the wise, if you choose to use plain peppermint tea, I highly suggest adding a little sweeter, because otherwise you’ll end up with something that tastes like it came straight out of a dentists’ office.

Coffee Gummies

photo 2

Time: 15-20 minutes to prepare, 2-3 hours until ready to eat

Makes: About 45 small gummies

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups of brewed Coffee
  • 4 tablespoons of Gelatin (I used Great Lakes)
  • Optional – 6-10 drops of Stevia, 1 tablespoon Maple Syrup or Honey (these amounts will give you slightly sweet gummies so feel free to add more or omit completely depending on your sweetness preferences)

Kitchen Tools:

  • Small pot
  • Whisk
  • Gummy molds (I’ve used heart-shaped ones & large gummy bear ones – if you don’t have molds or don’t want to buy them you can also pour mixture into a baking dish & then cut it up into small bite-sized gummy squares or use cookie cutters for fun shapes)

Directions:

  1. Brew two cups of coffee
  2. Pour coffee into a small pot & heat on medium heat on stove until it begins to simmer
  3. Turn heat down & add gelatin to hot coffee tablespoon by tablespoon, mixing the gelatin into the coffee with the whisk after each addition
  4. After gelatin is thoroughly mixed into coffee & no clumps remain, remove from heat & add in your sweetener of choice
  5. Whisk together thoroughly once more & pour mixture into gummy molds or baking dish
  6. Place in the refrigerator for about 2-3 hours & once the coffee is completely gummified store in tupperware

Side Notes:

  • You can also use a blender to mix the gelatin into the coffee (tablespoon by tablespoon) but using this method will create a foamy top layer
  • If adding milk to the gummies, add it last after the gelatin & sweetener are fully incorporated
  • You can turn these gummies into “tea gummies” by simply replacing the 2 cups of brewed coffee with 2 cups of steeped tea!
  • Spice these up by adding a small amount of cinnamon or cocoa powder!

Pictures:

IMG_5048 IMG_5049 IMG_5050 IMG_5052 IMG_5053 IMG_5054 photo 2

This entry was posted in New Site, Recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Coffee (& Tea) Gummies

  1. I would have never thought to make something like this. These are awesome! I will have to try making a version of these. I cut back on my coffee intake, but I’m a tea lover for sure!

    • skeating93 says:

      I’m so glad you like the idea! I think a chai tea & honey combo would be really good, or maybe a honey, vanilla, chamomile for a treat before bed. Let me know if you try it out & what you come up with!

Leave a Reply

